Over the past decades, international student mobility (ISM) in higher education has expanded rapidly.

This growth has sparked a considerable interest in ISM within different disciplines, research communities, and circles of practitioners and policy makers.

However, there is surprisingly little connection and exchange among researchers across these spheres. In addition, ISM scholarship remains strongly restricted to scientific circles, despite the relevance that scientific knowledge on ISM has for policy and daily practice.

This Action responds to the pressing need for systematic interdisciplinary and international exchange of knowledge on theoretical frameworks, research methodologies, findings, and best practice examples, and for translating scientific findings into recommendations for ISM practice. 


  • Proposal number: COST Action CA20115
  • Start date 5 October 2021 End date 4 October 2025
  • Funded by: COST Action
  • Overall budget
  • Coordinated by Tilburg University – Netherlands

COST Action

Open Call proposal referenced OC-2020-1-24634

COST Action

COST Action Management Committee (66)
  • Stichting Katholieke Universiteit Brabant (NL)
  • German Centre for Higher Education Research and Science Studies (DZHW) (DE)
  • University of Vienna (AT)
  • Cyprus University of Technology (CY)
  • DAAD (German Academic Exchange Service) (DE)
  • Education Centre For Sustainable Growth (DK)
  • Aarhus University (DK)
  • Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (ES)
  • Tallinn University (EE)
  • Estonian Education and Youth Board (EE)
  • Center for Economic and Social Studies (CESS) (AL)
  • Centre of Reproductive Health and Medical Genetics, Institute of Mother and Child (MD)
  • International Association of Universities (IAU) (FR)
  • AMU (FR)
  • University of Turku (FI)
  • Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (UK)
  • Ulster University (UK)
  • University of Patras (EL)
    • Ionion University (EL)
    • Tempus Public Foundation (HU)
    • Faculty of Economics and Business (HR)
    • University of Rijeka, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences (HR)
    • Accademia Europea di Firenze (IT)
    • Ben-Gurion University of the Negev (IL)
    • University College Cork (IE)
    • Rannís (IS)
    • The Árni Magnússon Institute for Icelandic Studies (IS)
    • University of Luxembourg (LU)
    • European University Foundation (LU)
    • Vilnius university (LT)
    • University of Latvia (LV)
    • State Education Development Agency (LV)
    • Mother Teresa University in Skopje (MK)
    • Oslo metropolitan University (NO)
    • Norwegian Directorate for Higher Education and Skills (NO)
    • Nuffic (NL)
    • Centro de Investigação e Estudos de Sociologia (CIES-IUL) – Instituto Universitário de Lisboa (ISCTE-IUL) (PT)
  • University of Porto – FPCEUP(PT)
  • Uniwersytet Jagielloński, Kraków (PL)
  • University of Warsaw (PL)
  • Alexandru Ioan Cuza University of Iasi (RO)
  • Romanian Academy, “Gh. Zane” Institute for Economic and Social Research (RO)
  • Uppsala University (SE)
  • CMEPIUS Centre of the Republic of Slovenia for Mobility and Educational and Training Programmes (SI)
  • University of Primorska, Faculty of Tourism Studies Turistica (SI)
  • Center of Social and Psychological Sciences (CSPS), Slovak Academy of Science (SK)
  • Middle East Technical University (TR)
  • Academic Cooperation Association (ACA) (BE)
  • Ghent University (BE)
  • University of Agder (BA)
  • College of Finance and Accounting FINra(BA)
  • Swiss National Agency Movetia (CH)
  • University of Basel (CH)
  • University of Donja Gorica (ME)
  • University of Niš, Faculty of Technology in Leskovac (RS)
error: Content is protected !!
Call Now Button